Book Review July 2017 by Diwan

Book Review July 2017 by Diwan

SHARE

High Mountains of Portugal – Yann Martel

A man thrown backwards by heartbreak goes in search of an artifact that could unsettle history. A woman carries her husband to a doctor in a suitcase. A Canadian senator begins a new life, in a new country, in the company of a chimp called Odo. From these stories of journeying, of loss and faith, Yann Martel (author of Life of Pi) makes a novel unlike any other: moving, profound and magical.

Dear Charlie – N.D. Gomes

Death should never meet the young. But it did. Thanks to my brother, death made fourteen new friends that day. Maybe even fifteen, if you count Charlie.

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why!

Simple Rules –  Donald Sull

Life gets more complicated every day. Whether you’re struggling with information overload, attempting to act effectively with limited resources or trying to change bad habits – all you need is Simple Rules.

Sunshine on a Rainy Day – Bryony Fraser

A funny, feel-good romantic comedy. A hilarious and heartbreaking read, for anyone whose life hasn’t quite gone to plan…

365 Inspirations for a Joyful Life– White Star

In addition to 365 inspirational images that impart strength and serenity, it features maxims, nuggets of wisdom, and practical advice that will support your personal journey, increase your self-esteem, and stimulate an optimistic outlook on life.

Prophet Collection – Kahlil Gibran

The book is divided into chapters dealing with love, marriage, children, giving, eating and drinking, work, joy and sorrow, houses, clothes, buying and selling, crime and punishment, laws, freedom, reason and passion, pain, self-knowledge, teaching, friendship, talking, time, good and evil, prayer, pleasure, beauty, religion, and death.

Prophet Collection – Kahlil Gibran

The book is divided into chapters dealing with love, marriage, children, giving, eating and drinking, work, joy and sorrow, houses, clothes, buying and selling, crime and punishment, laws, freedom, reason and passion, pain, self-knowledge, teaching, friendship, talking, time, good and evil, prayer, pleasure, beauty, religion, and death.

Girl in the Spider’s Web – David Lagercrantz

A genius hacker who has always been an outsider. A journalist with a penchant for danger. She is Lisbeth Salander, the girl with the dragon tattoo. He is Mikael Blomkvist, crusading editor of Millennium. One night, Blomkvist receives a call from a source who claims to have been given information vital to the United States by a young female hacker. Blomkvist, always on the lookout for a story, reaches out to Salander for help. She, as usual, has plans of her own. Together they are drawn into a ruthless underworld of spies, cybercriminals, and government operatives—some willing to kill to protect their secrets.

Best of Me – Nicholas Sparks
In the spring of 1984, high school students Amanda Collier and Dawson Cole fell deeply, irrevocably in love. Though they were from opposite sides of the tracks, their love for one another seemed to defy the realities of life in the small town of Oriental, North Carolina. But as the summer of their senior year came to a close, unforeseen events would tear the young couple apart, setting them on radically divergent paths.

Lego Friends Character EncycloPEDIA – Catherine Saunders

LEGO® Friends Character Encyclopedia is your ultimate guide to the world of LEGO Friends, featuring your favourite Friends characters, animals and sets.